Do I Need a DUI Lawyer for a First Time Offense In Philadelphia?
People are often under the mistaken impression that a driving under the influence (DUI) charge is a simple traffic issue and that the penalties are not terribly significant. They think that drinking and driving is an easy mistake to make and as long as they didn't hurt anyone then it's no big deal. Well, that is simply not the case. Pennsylvania treats DUIs very seriously. In fact, unlike across the bridge in New Jersey, DUIs are a criminal offense in the Commonwealth.
Even a first time DUI offense can carry up to $5,000 in fines, up to 6 months imprisonment, and as much as 12 months license suspension. When facing these types of penalties you absolutely have to retain an attorney. Even if you are on the low end of these penalties, facing only a few hundred dollars in fines, mandatory alcohol highway safety school, and six months of probation, it's quite serious and you should retain counsel to defend your rights.
The Law Offices of Greg Prosmushkin, P.C. offers free consultations where you can meet a DUI associate and discuss your case and the options available to you.
This content was written on behalf of Greg Prosmushkin.