New Jersey Auto Law facts you should know
At Greg Prosmushkin PC, your consultation is free, no matter how complex your issues. Being involved in an Automobile Accident can be very stressful; especially if you are seriously injured. Who is paying my medical benefits? Who is paying for my property damage? Can I collect wage loss? Why am I getting hospital bills and other emergency room related charges? Do I have to show up in court because the person that hit me was charged with a citation?
The list of questions goes on and on. The good news is that with the attorneys and staff at Greg Prosmushkin, PC, your answers are just a phone call or consultation away. The attorneys at Greg Prosmushkin PC have handled thousands of auto accident claims ranging from tractor trailer accidents to single vehicle accidents.
My insurance policy states that I have "limitation on lawsuit threshold" on my policy. What does that mean for me?
Limitation of lawsuit is a choice that is made for you unless and until you decide that you want no limitation of lawsuit on your policy. According to Greg Prosmushkin, Esquire, the general public is unaware that when you purchase insurance coverage, you automatically are limited in your ability to make a claim for pain and suffering unless you actively chose no lawsuit threshold. Having a lawsuit threshold means that you cannot be successful in making a claim for personal injuries unless your suffer one of the following:
•· Dismemberment (loss of a body part)
•· Loss of a fetus
•· Significant disfigurement or scarring
•· Displaced fracture
•· Permanent Injury, within a reasonable degree of medical probability
Cases where the limitation of lawsuit option is chosen are commonly referred to as Verbal Threshold Cases. These cases are very difficult to win. The lawyers at Greg Prosmushkin, PC are very experienced in making successful arguments for clients bound by the Lawsuit Limitation. Consult our offices today.
My insurance policy states that my personal health insurance is primary to my auto insurance even though my injuries were as a result of an automobile accident.
In order to save money on premiums, New Jersey's Insurance laws allow you to use your private health insurance as the primary insurance if you are injured and need treatment as a result of an automobile accident. At Greg Prosmushkin, PC, our staff will help guide you through the different types of insurances and which insurance is primary. Consult us today for more information.
What if the person at fault didn't have insurance or didn't have enough insurance to compensate me for the damage they caused?
At Greg Prosmushkin, PC, our lawyers and staff have specialized knowledge and over 20 years of true claims experience in handling cases where the person who caused the accident was an Uninsured Motorist or where the person at fault did not have enough insurance (under-insured motorist). These types of cases usually involve:
•· Persons who were not authorized to operate the at fault motor vehicle.
•· Persons who were operating a stolen vehicle.
•· Persons who were operating a vehicle without insurance coverage.
•· Persons who were operating a vehicle with too little insurance coverage.
•· Passengers of vehicles where there was no insurance coverage.
•· Persons who are at fault but ran from the scene without identification.
Remember, in New Jersey, underinsured motorist coverage is "gap" coverage. In other words, if the at fault driver is only insured for $15.000.00 per accident, and you have $25,000.00 in underinsured motorist coverage, you are only entitled to $10,000.00 of additional coverage. That is why it is important to insure yourself correctly of visit us for free to make sure you are covered correctly.
This content was written on behalf of Greg Prosmushkin.