Philadelphia Lawyer for Uninsured Motorist
In your lifetime, chances are that you will be struck by another motorist who either has no insurance or has limited insurance to cover your losses. While it is important to protect your assets (which is why you are contracted with proper car insurance), it is equally important that you protect those in your car and yourself while behind the wheel.
Under Pennsylvania law, to drive your car legally, you must carry the minimum coverage available under the law. This usually means that you afford others (Bodily Injury Coverage) with $15,000.00 of insurance. This means that if you cause an accident, you are availing the party that you injured $15,000.00 for your negligence. Years ago, when Pennsylvania mandated that if you afford yourself with the same $15,000 in underinsured and uninsured coverage. However, Pennsylvania law has changed and now for a cheaper premium, you can reject these coverage's entirely. If you have rejected those coverage's, it would be a mistake to do so. Here's why:
Take the example above but instead of causing the accident, you are the victim of an accident. Lets assume that you are sitting in your car at a red light and a car comes from behind and crashes into your car at a high rate of speed. You have devastating injuries and the driver of the car that hit you was texting at the time that he or she struck you. Your injuries are so bad that you lose countless months of work and you will have pain and suffering for the foreseeable future. What if the driver of the vehicle did not have insurance (for whatever reason)? If you rejected Underinsured Motorist coverage, then you would be completely out of luck and unable to recover anything for your devastating injuries. The same holds true if the person that struck you had limited or low coverage. In Pennsylvania, the minimum legal coverage is $15,000.00. If you have lifelong permanent injuries, this would hardly be enough to cover your life long damages. Unfortunately, if you reject your underinsured coverage, this $15,000.00 is all that you would get.
Protection for yourself and your loved ones is the most important thing to do when purchasing car insurance. In Pennsylvania, you can only afford yourself what you afford others with car insurance benefits. So if you have a $50,000.00 policy in the event you cause an accident, you can contract for the same coverage in Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. You cannot, however, afford others less than what you afford yourself. At Greg Prosmushkin, PC, our experienced lawyers deal with these issues every day. Consultations are free and we encourage you to call if you have any questions.
Please contact us.
This content was written on behalf of Greg Prosmushkin.