Lawyer For Car Accidents in Mercer County NJ
Most car accidents occur because of negligence on one or more of the drivers in an accident. Negligence is the failure to exercise due care under the circumstances. If you have been involved in a car accident, it is likely because one or more of the drivers did not exercise due care under the circumstances, whatever those circumstances may be. It is enough for a person to deal with the hassle of a car accident, and you haven't even fought the insurance company for compensation for your injuries! If you or a loved one has been involved in a Car Accident and were injured as a result, you may be entitled to recover fair compensation for your losses. If you have any question about your eligibility, do not hesitate to contact Greg Prosmushkin, PC for your free consultation.
New Jersey is a commuter state. With so many drivers on the road, the likelihood of you or a loved one being involved in a car accident is high. By law, all vehicles registered in the state of New Jersey are required to have insurance. There are different types of insurance that aim to protect drivers. The first, property damage liability insurance, pays other drivers for property damage resulting from a car accident that you caused. The second, personal injury protection insurance, pays medical bills for you or others insured under your policy in the event that a car accident results in bodily injury. The third, bodily injury liability provides coverage for claims and lawsuits by people as a result of an accident that you have caused. Lastly, uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage protects drivers from damages resulting from accidents with drivers that are driving without proper insurance coverage. Also, New Jersey allows drivers that are Medicaid recipients with hospitalization on their health insurance to carry Special Automobile Policies a/k/a Dollar a day insurance. This is no insurance at all and if you are injured by the negligence of one of these insured's then you have no insurance to receive compensation. If struck by a dollar a day insured, you may only pursue a Uninsured motorist claim or a PLIGA claim if you are in a car without insurance also.
It is also important that New Jersey is a "No Fault" insurance jurisdiction. The "No Fault" insurance system means that your insurer must provide you coverage for your economic losses and medical bills even if another driver was at fault. As simple as this may sound, insurance companies create limitations and restrictions so that they do not have to pay you the coverage that you may deserve. If you or a loved one has been involved in a car accident, an insurer will not automatically pay you. That is where we come in. The Law Offices of Greg Prosmushkin, PC are experienced in navigating the muddy waters of "No Fault" insurance claims and getting insured drivers the maximum benefits of their insurance coverage.
A basic insurance policy is the minimum insurance that a driver can have in New Jersey, however it is not recommended because it provides very little insurance coverage and very limited benefits to the insured. It is intended for drivers that have minimal family responsibilities and few assets to protect, such as your own home or income from your job. The insurance policy consists of a $5,000 mandatory property damage coverage and $15,000 in personal injury protection. To clarify, this type of insurance policy does not protect you from being held liable for claims and lawsuits by people injured as a result of an accident that you have caused. Nor does it protect the insured from uninsured or underinsured drivers. Moreover, this type of insurance policy severely limits your right to sue for any damages that you may have suffered. Contact Greg Prosmushkin, PC for a free consultation to determine what rights you may or may not have.
Most drivers in New Jersey choose a standard insurance policy because it provides the state recommended level of coverage. The mandatory minimum bodily injury liability coverage is $15,000. The mandatory minimum for property damage liability is $5,000. The mandatory minimum for personal injury protection is $15,000. Another choice that an insured using this type of insurance policy has to make is their right to sue. In New Jersey, you have are given the option of electing a right to sue versus a limitation of your right to sue (Verbal Threshold). At Greg Prosmushkin PC, we have the knowledge and experience to help guide you through your choice of insurance and claims you need to make if you are harmed by a car accident.
Why Do I Need A Lawyer?
A person who has suffered damages as a result of a car accident is advised to seek medical attention and then, we urge you to contact an attorney at Greg Prosmushkin, PC as soon as possible for a free consultation. New Jersey's statute of limitations can prevent a claim for damages if it is begun after two years from the time of the injury. As experienced attorneys, Greg Prosmushkin, PC fights to ensure that our clients receive the full extent of all insurance available whether it be your own policy or the negligent party's. Our firm is experienced in dealing with insurance companies, investigating accidents, collecting evidence, contacting witnesses, and preparing legal documents to argue before the court. In advocating for our clients, an attorney from Greg Prosmushkin, PC will establish the best case for a favorable outcome and the highest compensation for our injured client.
This content was written on behalf of Greg Prosmushkin.