Jump to Navigation

Penalties for DUI In Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania Penalties for DUI Offense

The penalties for a DUI in Pennsylvania are significant and are outlined below. They are divided into impairment distinctions based upon the Blood Alcohol Level (BAC) of the individual charged. The three levels of impairment are (1) General Impairment - 0.08% to 0.099% BAC, (2) High Rate BAC - .10% to 0.159% BAC, and (3) Highest Rate BAC - .16% and above. DUI's carry escalating penalties. As such, with every subsequent offense, you're looking at increased penalties and jail time.

General Impairment

FIRST OFFENSE, SECOND OFFENSE, THIRD OFFENSE

· First Offense: 6 months probation; Second Offense: County Jail*(5 days to 6 months); Third Offense: County Jail or State Prison* (10 days to 2 years)

· First Offense: $300 fine; Second Offense: $300 to $2,500 fine; Third Offense: $500 to $5,000 fine

· First and Second Offenses: AHSS**; AHSS**; Third and Subsequent Offense: Not required.

· First Offense: No license suspension; Second Offense: 12 month license suspension; Third Offense: 12 month license suspension.

· Second and Third Offenses: Ignition Interlock 12 months

High BAC

FIRST OFFENSE, SECOND OFFENSE, THIRD OFFENSE

· First Offense: County Jail* (2 days to 6 months), Second Offense: County Jail* (30 days to 6 months,) Jail*( 90 days to 5 years)

· First Offense: $500 to $5,000 fine; Second Offense: $750 to $5,000 fine, $1,500 to $10,000 fine

· First and Second Offense: AHSS**; Third Offense: AHSS** not required.

· First Offense: 12 month license suspension; Second Offense: 12 month license suspension; Third Offense: 12 month license suspension

· Second and Subsequent Offenses: Ignition Interlock for 12 months.

Highest BAC

FIRST OFFENSE, SECOND OFFENSE, THIRD OFFENSE

· First Offense: County Jail* (30 days to 6 months); Second Offense: County Jail or State Prison*( 90 days to 5 years); Third Offense: County Jail or State Prison* (1 year to 5 years).

· First Offense: $1,000 to $5,000 fine; Second Offense: $1,500 to $10,000 fine; Third Offense: $2,500 to $10,000 fine

· First and Second Offense: AHSS**; Third and Subsequent Offense: AHSS** not required.

· First Offense: 12 months suspension; Second and Subsequent Offenses: 18 month suspension.

· Second and Third Offenses: Ignition Interlock for 12 months.

*Instead of jail, it is possible in some instances for the judge to sentence an individual to another form of imprisonment, such as house arrest.

**AHSS is Alcohol Highway Safety School, a required program for DUI offenders, which requires no less than 12.5 hours to meet Pennsylvania guidelines, and is paid for at the offender's expense.

Why Do I Need a Lawyer?

Because, as you can clearly see illustrated above, the penalties for DUI conviction are significant, and it is in your best interests to avoid such consequences. A DUI Attorney at The Law Offices of Greg Prosmushkin, P.C. can help you to fight these charges.

This content was written on behalf of Greg Prosmushkin.

Free Consultation

Tell Us About Your Case

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Office Locations

The Law Offices of Greg Prosmushkin, P.C.
9637 Bustleton Avenue
Philadelphia, PA 19115

Phone: 215-673-7733
Fax: 215-673-7933
Philadelphia Law Office Map

The Law Offices of Greg Prosmushkin, P.C.
1142 Brunswick Avenue
Trenton, NJ 08638

Phone: 609-257-4976
Fax: 609-656-1411
Trenton Law Office Map

The Law Offices of Greg Prosmushkin, P.C.
538 Street Road, Suite 200
Southampton, PA 18966

Phone: 215-297-6333
Southampton Law Office Map