Until you lose your driving license, you may not realize just how essential your driving privileges are to your everyday life. At The Law Office of Greg Prosmushkin, we represent motorists throughout Mercer County who are dealing with the problem with their problems with their driving license. It is important that you take this charge seriously. Working with an experienced New Jersey traffic attorney can help you reduce the suspension period, keep your insurance premiums from increasing and more importantly keep you from serving jail time. We understand that a suspension of your driver’s license can affect many aspects of your life. Here at our firm, our goal is to help reduce the impact of the traffic offense and get you back behind the wheel as soon as possible.
The thought of losing your license is extremely troubling. How are you supposed to get to work? Pick up the kids? Go grocery shopping? Basically, you may wonder, how can I survive without driving? Now, obviously, you’ll survive. Nevertheless, driving is a vital component of most of our lives. As an adult, you use your car to go to and from a wide variety of places on a daily basis and have become entirely dependent upon it within the context of your day to day life.
So when you open a letter from NJDOT informing you that your license will soon be Suspended due to some event or combination of infractions, you may be sent into a panic. Rather than wonder how you’re going to manage without your driving privileges, you should call The Law Offices of Greg Prosmushkin, P.C. to speak with one of our traffic attorneys and determine if there is a means by which to avoid or at least minimize this looming suspension.
Why Is Your License Being Suspended?
There are a number of causes for suspension of driving privileges in New Jersey. Some of those include:
- Accumulating 12 or more points on your driving record
- Reckless driving
- Driving Under an Already Suspended License
- Causing a fatal accident
- Conviction of a felony in which a vehicle was used
- Racing or drag racing
- Leaving the Scene of an Accident
- Failing to appear in court
- Failing to pay fines or surcharges
- Failure to make scheduled child support payments
The points schedule can be somewhat tricky, but here are the details which you need to understand. Six (6) points or more within three years will result in being issued a surcharge by NJDOT. 12 points or more will result within an automatic suspension being issued.
Further offenses after the restoration of your license will result in lengthier Suspensions. A first offense within 6 months of the suspension will result in an automatic 90 days suspension. Within 7-9 months, 60 days. And within 10-12 months, 45 days. Subsequent offenses within corresponding time periods will result in Suspensions of twice the duration (180, 120 and 90 days, respectively).
Often times people simply chose to ignore their suspension because they believe driving is essential. However, driving is a privilege, not a right, and this risk is simply not worth taking. Depending upon the circumstances of the underlying suspension, you will be issued fines and potentially jail time for not honoring your License Suspension.
Perhaps NJDOT made a mistake, and you should not have been issued a Suspension. In this case, don’t take matters into your own hands and ignore the erroneous suspension, thereby causing further complications. Call The Law Offices of Greg Prosmushkin, P.C. to help you remedy the situation. You also have an option available to you called the Driver Improvement Program in the case of a 30 day suspension for accumulation of points. By completing this course if eligible you may be able to avoid suspension. The Law Offices of Greg Prosmushkin, P.C. can help advise you about your options and how to proceed. Call today to schedule an appointment and see if we can help you to prevent the suspension of your license, or to have it reinstated.
This content was written on behalf of Greg Prosmushkin.