Logo
How Long Does a Driver's License Suspension Last in Pennsylvania?
How Long Does a Driver's License Suspension Last in Pennsylvania? If you are concerned that you may lose your license for any reason, please contact us today.
Logo
215-543-7220 9637 Bustleton Avenue Philadelphia , PA 19115
609-257-4976 1142 Brunswick Avenue Trenton , NJ 08638
215-297-6333 538 Street Road, Suite 100 Southampton , PA 18966
Pennsylvania
215-543-7220
New Jersey
609-775-9567
License Suspension
Greg Prosmushkin
Dec 28, 2018

A Driver’s License Suspension may last as little as a few weeks or as much as a year or more. The length of the suspension is dependent upon a number of factors, including the offense committed, your driving history, and whether any persons were injured in the commission of the act. Whether you are facing a potential driver’s suspension due to points accumulated on your driving record, injuring a person while driving under the influence, or any other reason, The Law Offices of Greg Prosmushkin, P.C. can help.

Loss of License for Points

PennDOT will issue a license suspension based upon the number of points you have accumulated on your license.

  1. Six+ points – You have 30 days to take and pass a written exam. Your license will be suspended if you do not pass within that time frame, and will remain suspended until you have passed the examination.
  2. Six+ points (second occurrence) – You will be required to appear for a hearing with PennDOT and a determination will be made as to whether a road test is required or an automatic 15 day suspension levied. A road test must be passed within 30 days or a suspension will be issued until the test is passed.
  3. Six+ points (subsequent accumulations) – A PennDOT hearing will be held and an automatic 30 day suspension assessed.
  4. Excessive Speeding – A PennDOT hearing and either a road test or 15 days suspension.
  5. 11+ points – Automatic suspension, the duration of which will be based upon the number of points accumulated and number of suspensions previously issued the driver.

Driving Under the Influence

A Suspension for a DUI will be based on a number of factors, with the two constants being: (1) impairment level and (2) number of past offenses.

  • General Impairment – 0.08 to 0.099% BAC
  • First offense – no license suspension
  • Second offense – 12 months suspension
  • Third offense – 12 months suspension
  • High BAC – 0.10 to 0.159% BAC
  • All offenses – 12 months suspension
  • Highest BAC – 0.16% and above
  • All offenses – 12 months suspension

Obviously, this is not an all-inclusive list; there are many other offenses for which you may lose your license. In fact, the above may include even longer suspensions, if speeding or driving under the influence resulted in injury to another person, or damage to property.

If you are concerned that you may lose your license for any reason, please do not hesitate to contact The Law Offices of Greg Prosmushkin, P.C. to schedule a free consultation. Let us help you to protect your rights and your license.

This content was written on behalf of Greg Prosmushkin.

Share: