Fatalities caused by drivers who are under the influence are always preventable deaths. Lawmakers have historically attempted to help reduce these fatalities by implementing harsher penalties in hopes to discourage impaired motorists from getting behind the wheel. Pennsylvania is one of many states that require multiple DUI offenders to install an ignition interlock device (IID) into all vehicles they regularly drive. Receiving a drunk driving conviction already carries with it significant fines for an accused offender, and being authorized to implement an IID onto your vehicle only adds to that financial weight.
Once a person is convicted of a second offense for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Pennsylvania, they are required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) on any vehicle which they operate. These devices are very burdensome. They cost about $1,000 to install, carry a monthly maintenance fee, and sometimes do significant damage to the vehicle. Additionally, as most car leases do not permit the installation of an IID, a lessee’s problems are compounded, as they now find themselves stuck with a leased vehicle they cannot legally drive.
In addition to forcing those convicted to install an IID on their car, PennDOT will issue them a restricted ignition interlock license (IIL) which will indicate upon observation that this person is not supposed to operate a vehicle without an IID installed. Most people adhere to court instruction, and install the IID on their primary vehicle. But they find themselves in trouble when they drive another vehicle, be it another car they own, a rental, etc. After all, installing a device on every car you drive is expensive and impractical, right? Too bad. It does not matter. This decision will prove to be to their extreme detriment, because once a driver with an IIL is discovered driving without an interlock device installed in the vehicle they are facing a host of new problems. If you have an IIL and were caught driving a vehicle without an IID, you will need representation. Call The Law Offices of Greg Prosmushkin, P.C. today to schedule a free consultation with one of our attorneys.
Driving without an Ignition Interlock Device
While you may claim ignorance, or that it was just a one-time error in judgment, the judge has heard it all before. Pennsylvania treats this offense seriously. Conviction is that of a misdemeanor, and will result in a fine between $300 and $1000, potential imprisonment of up to 90 days, and an additional one-year suspension from the date of conviction.
To fight this charge, your Attorney will need to contest the officer’s reason for the initial stop. This is often an uphill battle, and in most instances it will be in your best interest to instruct your lawyer to seek a plea deal. If you want to fight the charges, The Law Offices of Greg Prosmushkin, P.C. will offer you the best defense possible and if you chose to plea, we will negotiate on your behalf to secure the best deal available.
Do not lose your license for yet another year. Call The Law Offices of Greg Prosmushkin, P.C. to schedule a free consultation, and see how we can help you.
This content was written on behalf of Greg Prosmushkin.